Why Mindy Kaling is Becoming My Favorite Person

I finished reading Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) last week. The last page had her “About the Author” and it said she has a twitter. I took to my account and tweeted her.

She favorited my tweet!

Her book is hilarious. I found myself carrying the book with me because I wanted to make sure I told her story right to those I wanted to share it with. Her attitude about life in general is simple and ambitious at the same time. I like that she isn’t out there telling people how to live by her rules, rather she encourages girls and women to follow their own- and not give up.

She might not have said she’s feminist or has a feminist lifestyle, but she really assured my way of being. She talks about her obsession with dieting, her being seen as a role model (her advise to young girls is truly beautiful), and some guy talk. I wish she was my real life friend. She makes me want to go out there in this world and make things happen for myself. She’s truly a smart person.

Here’s why I really enjoyed her book:

-it gives me different insight to what i don’t see in characters she played on TV

-the background work of her success is inspiring

-it reminds me that they are human too

-as a woman of color it makes me proud that she’s made it- and that she’s planning on staying.

-she’s comedy writer. i would have never known.

-she’s not ashamed of who she is and she makes me want to continue to work on myself to reach that point.

-her childhood photos are adorable!

to be honest this post is not turning out how i thought writing this post was going to be like. i wanted it to be more thought provoking with greater analysis. What you got is what’s above.

Catch me watching The Mindy Project. See ya!

One thought on “Why Mindy Kaling is Becoming My Favorite Person

Leave a Reply

