The Rise and Fall of Facebook in my Life

Whether we want to or not, we all have an opinion on social media. Here is mine.

I have conversations regarding SM quite often with my boyfriend. We share similar thoughts, but not always. We talk about how it’s evolved, its purpose, who’s abusing it, and how irritating it can be.

I had myspace when it was “cool” to have one (and I think my profile is still active I just can’t remember the email and password) and eventually got Facebook during the time when you had to have an .edu e-mail. Myspace waned off and now it’s all about FB. And Instagram. And Twitter. And Snapchat. I’m on all but FB. In all honesty it was very hard to process the fact that I was not going to de-activate my account like I had in the past, but actually deleting it.

Will I be able to abstain from logging in during those two weeks they expect me to? All those posts and photos will be gone! (we all know they’re somewhere else in cyber space). My FRIENDS! *insert crying emoji*

I survived. I’ve been FB clean for 3 months and I do not regret it. It was really starting to weigh me down. I was beginning to get irritated with people I had no actual contact with. I was judging too harshly, and getting annoyed too easily at things that in no way affected me. That’s a reflection on me, people. Not the posters. In the beginning I was posting constantly and eventually ever-so-often. But others? They just kept on, and on, and on.

The BF got rid of his FB for similar reasons a while ago, but I always argue that he’s hypocritical about it. You see, he said he liked FB because he can keep in touch with family. But then he began getting annoyed at said family and would tell me how basic they were. He’d say that he’d like to reply to their posts saying x,y,z but he never would! All this anger and annoyance would just build inside him. He liked FB also because it was a great way to follow unconventional forms of news outlets but would get upset at how no one else he knew did. Well, did you share? (he didn’t). BF would also say he’d like to post about certain topics but knew people wouldn’t engage him so he never did. OK, are you seeing a pattern here with the BF? You’re doing SM wrong! I’ve always claimed he was just a lurker, seeking to be angry with someone or something.

For me it was fun. It was a way to share silly moments with friends and family and engage in surveys and just be me but on a platform. Then FB started changing (much to everyone’s chagrin). We can share links, videos, and photos in a different way, we can repost content, and we can see more activity from everyone else. Now we can see who said what to whom, who liked what, who is playing what game and wants us to play along, and those damned ads! We lost first  hand online communication (does that make sense?). THE END OF AN ERA!

I didn’t mind all those changes at first. But then my brain had an overload. It was too much. I cleaned out my friends list, unliked pages, unsubscribed to RSS feeds… relief! Time passed and my opinions started to change. My outlook on life and what was distressing me became center focus. Who do I want in my life? Why do I have certain people on my TL? Why did I accept their friend request only to have them muted? Hmm.. unfriend. I don’t care if I knew you five years ago- I don’t know  you now. I don’t care that you are my cousin and this feeling of obligation to be your online friend needs to be gone. Delete. Delete.

Now that I don’t have a FB I feel so much lighter. I don’t have the constant and incessant need to refresh the screen. My eyes don’t hurt from all the eye rolling at pretentious posts (that’s how I felt about them, OK?). I don’t have to subconsciously try and solve people’s problems and piece together drama that DOES NOT CONCERN ME!  And guess what, I have more to talk about with people I see. I don’t know what they’ve been up to, so I ask. And that’s one of the things the BF and I agree on. There is more genuine storytelling and sharing of life events. By the way, this reminds me… watch Aziz Ansari’s latest special (it’s on Netflix).

Leave a Reply

