Madly Chasing Peace: How I Went From Hell to Happy in Nine Minutes a Day by Dina Proctor – Book Review

I’m currently reading 10% Happier : How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually Works- A True Story by Dan Harris. Man that was a mouth-full. It reminded me much of this other book I read (read the title of this post) that was recommended to me by my younger sister. Below is the review I wrote on goodreads.

Almost done with 10% Happier … so I’ll be reviewing that shortly

Mady Chasing Peace

If I’m correct in my thoughts about this being my first self-help book then I’m so happy that this has been my first. For almost a year I have tapped the waters of meditation, higher conscious, and what may seem like atheism but its what I believe to be connecting to spirituality rather than a defined God or religion.

The part of the book that resonates loudest to me is when she quotes Jack Canfield on living life with the emergency break on. I am still driving with the break on and so many times I’ve reached to release but moved away. I believe that now, with Dina’s experience in my literary canon, I can begin to reach, grab, and release that break. The negative thoughts that have held me back have been what others might think. But as long as I find that connection with my being’s center I know now that I will be OK. I shan’t be afraid- only free.

I cannot believe how much I love this book, Dina’s experiences, and what can become of me when I apply and play the games. I’ve heard and read about many similar experiences but felt skeptical- almost as if the individuals going through them were telling fantasies. I believe that I felt this way because I was feeling jealousy of the control and freedom they had on their thoughts and lives. I’m ready to be centered.

Writing this review/self-reflection almost feels unnatural; not only because I’ve never written a review on any other book without feeling I HAD TO, but because I feel like everything that is being transcribed is happening on auto. I just felt compelled to write a about it and well, there it is.

*written 2/4/2013

Leave a Reply

